Western Samoa

Not to be confused with American Samoa (the unincorporated territory of the United States located in the South Pacific Ocean, southeast of Samoa), U.S. Citizens require a valid U.S. Passport for travel to Samoa. Samoa used to be called Western Samoa, and is a sovereign state in Polynesia, encompassing the western part of the Samoan Islands in the South Pacific Ocean.